Thursday, 8 January 2015

Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven




Title: All the Bright Places
Author:  Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Penguin
Rating: 5 /5 Kitkats



The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.


(From Goodreads)


Source: I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book whatsoever; it's my true opinion only. 

This book deserves more than 5 Kitkats because it's simply amazing.
It broke me in so many ways.
I don't normally cry at books, but this book hit me like a rock.

ATBP is a contemporary that is both cute and quirky as well as dark and serious.

I don't want to spoil anyone by mentioning the themes as I don't want to spoil the experience.

I fell in love with Finch and Violet. The love was real and true. It wasn't insta-love. It was raw and meaningful.

I connected with them in so many ways that I wanted to know them. I wanted to help them. I wanted to save them. I wanted to comfort them. And I wanted to be their friend.

I melted into Jennifer's writing. It was so beautiful and lyrical that I was drawn in. I honestly didn't want to put it down (damn life getting in the way).

This story is one that will stay with me forever, and this deserves a slot on my favourites shelf.

I will purchase this book and cuddle and cherish it for life just as you should too.

They are right when it says for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars. It has that feel to it.

Lose yourself with this book. It will claim you, chew you up and spit you out a different person.


add to goodreads button 


As always, thank you for reading. 


I hope you have enjoyed this review. 


  Keep smiling, keep reading & be happy! =)
 
~Katie~

No comments:

Post a comment